Short History
Former Academic Staff
Departments and Staff
Undergraduate Studies
Web Learn
Postgraduate Studies
Home History Short History of the School of Geology
Short History of the School of Geology

Thrace, 1952The School of Geology was founded in 1973 when the former School of Natural Sciences, already operating since 1943, was divided in two new Schools, namely the School of Geology and the School of Biology. 

The School of Geology belongs to the the Faculty of Sciences of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki founded in 1925. The Laboratory of Geology, Petrology and Mineralogy as well as the Laboratory of Meteorology and Climatology started operating during the academic year 1928-29.

The scientific fields of the School are: Palaeontology, Stratigraphy, Structural Geology, Physical Geography, Applied Geology, Hydrogeology, Engineering Geology, Geothermics, Mineralogy, Petrology, Economic Geology, Geochemistry, Industrial Minerals and Rocks, Fossil Fuels, Geophysics, Seismology, Climatology, Meteorology and Environmental Geology.

Thrace, 1952The School of Geology presents significant activities. Its teaching staff elaborates many research programs usually in collaboration with different national and international institutions and organizations. The School of Geology is among the first ten schools (out of 46) of the Aristotle University concerning the total budget of its projects. Its teaching and research staff publishes annually numerous papers in international and national scientific journals. Approximately 70 PhD theses are elaborated annually. The School of Geology has successfully organized many international and national congresses and meetings.

Today, the total number of undergraduate students studying in the School of Geology is approximately 1200.

The School of Geology since its foundation, has been offering postgraduate studies leading to Doctoral Degrees. Since the academic year 1995-96, two postgraduate programs are offered one in Geology and one in Meteorology and Climatology leading to MSc and PhD degrees.

Top of page